New media

I believe the first blog post is traditionally reserved for an introduction and description of what to expect in future posts. Honestly though, I don’t know what to expect from this experience, and I certainly don’t expect you to know either.

I will say that the topic I’m most inspired to write about is new media and the evolving world of communication. I began a multimedia production class in January, and it has opened my eyes to new ways to reach the public.

Before I go any further, I need to make one point abundantly clear: I love writing for print, and I hope to do it for the rest of my life. I don’t think it’s a dying medium, but it is certainly a changing medium. I want to join in that transition.

So in order to stay ahead of the game, I’m preparing to enter a new world of communication that, I’ll admit, seems overwhelming. But competition in the job market is as tough as it has ever been, and I want to develop the skills I need to stand out.

Whether that means tweeting about my latest contribution to the student newspaper, or experimenting with film and photography to diversify my academic portfolio, I’ll be there.

Of course I will keep you updated with my travails and setbacks. And I hope you, as my readers, will not fear bringing me down to earth, nor lifting me from the floor.

Comments
One Response to “New media”
  1. Very good introduction to your new blog. Looking forward to reading more. This is a new world and a very exciting one filled with opportunity and challenge.

Leave a comment

  • Archive